Just one of our many CAST RECORDINGS ...
Home  |  News  |  Shop by Category  |  Filichia on Friday  |  Fun  |  Links  |  International  |  Contact



Kritzerland is proud to present the maybe could be final release in the Ben Bagley Revisited series:


Music by Vernon Duke

Lyrics by Sammy Cahn, Howard Dietz, Ira Gershwin, E.Y. Harburg and E. Hartman, John Latouche, Jerome Lawrence and Robert E. Lee, and Harold Rome

Vladimir Dukelsky is certainly one of the most underrated composers in all of The Great American Songbook. Of course, he changed his name to Vernon Duke and for someone who had some very big hits over the years, mention his name to most people and they won’t know who you’re talking about. But anyone who wrote with such luminaries as Johnny Mercer, Ira Gershwin, Howard Dietz, Ogden Nash, Sammy Cahn, E.Y. Harburg is not exactly chopped liver.

His shows included Walk a Little Faster (which produced the classic “April in Paris”), Ziegfeld Follies of 1934 (which included “I Like the Likes of You”), Thumbs Up! (“Autumn in New York”), Ziegfeld Follies of 1936 (“I Can’t Get Started”), Cabin in the Sky (which featured the amazing “Taking a Chance on Love”), Banjo Eyes, The Lady Comes Across, Jackpot, Sadie Thompson, Sweet Bye and Bye (which had a book by S.J. Perelman and Al Hischfeld!), Two’s Company, and, of course, Ben Bagley’s The Littlest Revue. And his little-known classical output included three symphonies, a piano concerto, a cello concerto, a violin concerto, several ballets, including two used in the film The Goldwyn Follies.

Vernon Duke Revisited Volume III has a marvelous cast, including Tammy Grimes, Dorothy Loudon, Kaye Ballard, Mary Cleere Haran, Ann Hampton Callaway, Sandy Stewart, Arthur Siegel, and more. Rarities included are all gems and wonderful discoveries and we really do have to be grateful to the self-described “incurably insane” Ben for giving the gift of three Vernon Duke Revisited albums. As we’ve done for all these releases, we’ve considerably spruced up the sound for this new release. And the cover and interior art is, of course, by the great Harvey Schmidt.

VERNON DUKE REVISITED VOLUME III is limited to 500 copies only and priced at $19.98, plus shipping. This is a PRE-ORDER – CDs will ship by the second week of April. As you probably know, our pressing plant has been very slow for the past six months, for which we apologize, but I think they’re back on track now.

Also note that your PayPal receipt is the only receipt you get – we don’t send out confirmations beyond that.


(Click on cover for enlarged version)

• Click on titles below to hear a song sample:

1. Time Marches On — The Patios
2. Small World — Dorothy Loudon
3. Dancing in the Streets Medley — Kaye Ballard, Arthur Siegel, and Dennis’ Girls
4. Once I Fall — Ann Hampton Callaway
5. What Happened? — Arthur Siegel
and Dennis’ Girls
6. My Heart Decided — Tammy Grimes
7. You After All These Years — Mary Cleere Haran
8. Red Letter Day — Sula
9. I Used to Be Above Love — Sandy Stewart
10. Maharanee — Arthur, Andre, and Albert Siegel, and Sandy Stewart
11. Love Me Tomorrow — Dorothy Loudon
12. Love Turned the Light Out —
Mary Cleere Haran
13. Fancy, Fancy — Kaye Ballard
and Arthur Siegel

14. Does a Duck Like Water? — The Patios
15. I Knew You Well — Tammy Grimes
16. Who’s Excited? — Ann Hampton Callaway
17. There You Are Again — Mary Cleere Haran
18. Make With the Feet — Arthur Siegel
and Dennis’ Girls
19. I Ask You — Sandy Stewart
20. Not a Care in the World — Dorothy Loudon
21. Song Without Words — Kaye Ballard
22. This Is Not a Song — Sula and Dennis’ Girls
23. Too Too Divine — Kaye Ballard, Arthur Siegel, and Dennis’ Girls
24. They Never Told Me — Mary Cleere Haran
25. Dancing to our Score — The Patios

Arrangements and Musical Direction by Dennis Deal, Richard Rodney Bennett, and Robert Marks


Buy now! $19.98



Barcode: 857252004146 | Selection: 20041-4  
Home  |  News  |  Shop by Category  |  Filichia on Friday  |  Fun  |  Links  |  International  |  Contact